Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows

A devotion to Holy Mary, our Mother

George Kitney, what a man!

It is with a heavy heart that we announce that George Kitney passed away on Sunday 1st of july, 2012.

A man with a most fervent love of and trust in God. He never asked “why me”, He never complained about being sick. He had asked God for him to experience purgatory on earth, and I am certain that is what happened. He was a true missionary of God and proclaimed God’s love from the rooftops.

Please keep him in your prayers

What is the purpose of the devotion?

The purpose of the Devotion of the Seven Sorrows is to promote union with the sufferings of Christ through union with the special suffering that Our Lady endured because she is the Mother of God.

By uniting ourselves with both the Passion of Christ and His holy Mother, we enter into Jesus’ Heart and honor Him greatly; He is more honored because we have so honored His Mother.

The Seven Dolors are taken from Scripture events and the devotion has a long history, although it was not officially promulgated by the Church until the early nineteenth century. Before Pope Pius VII’s formal approval, the Servite Order had permission in 1668 to celebrate the Feast of the Seven Dolors because the Order was instrumental in popularizing the Seven Sorrows Devotion.

In the Middle Ages, Catholic theology concentrated mostly on Christ’s Passion; at the side of the Man of Sorrows, however, the faithful always contemplated the Queen of Martyrs. Devotion to the Crucified Christ and to Our Lady of Sorrows grew side by side. On Calvary there were, in a sense, two altars: one in the Body of Jesus; and the other in the Immaculate Heart of Mary. Christ immolated His flesh, Mary, her heart, her own soul. On September 15, the day following the ancient feast of the Holy Cross, the Church commemorates the compassion of Mary; but it is fitting during the year, especially during Lent, to honor the Sorrows of Mary.

Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows


Translate Me